Download the Program (4.4 MB)

Download 1998/1999 Theatre Sheridan Season Program (1.7 MB)


It is the opening night of a musical melodrama, based on the Charles Dickens unfinished novel The Mystery of Edwin Drood, at the Music Hall Royale. The Chairman introduces the cast and the play begins. Edwin Drood is engaged to Rosa Bud, but his uncle John Jasper cherishes a secret passion for the young lady. When Reverend Crisparkle introduces a mysterious brother and sister recently arrived from Ceylon, a train of events begin which culminate in the mysterious disappearance of Edwin Drood. Has he been murdered? If so by whom? Who are the mysterious visitors, Princess Puffer and Datchery? In the town of Cloisterham, everyone has their secret.

The History

Charles Dickens died before completing his mystery novel and composer/playwright Rupert Holmes decided to turn this distinct shortcoming into a real theatrical asset. The show was Holmes' very first musical, a unique blend of raucous music hall choruses and jokes, and high melodrama with beautiful, almost operatic melodies. The Tony award winning musical Drood, was a smash hit in both New York and London. Originating at the New York Shakespeare Festival, it transferred to Broadway, winning five Tony awards, including Best Musical, Best Book and Best Score and nine Drama Desk Awards. The broad humour, rollicking choruses and audience participation always a part of Victorian Music Hall are cleverly woven round a story told in high melodramatic style with soaring melodies and passion.

Director: Christina James

Choreographer: Stephen Greig

Musical Director: Anthony Bastianon

Publication Date


Production Year


Theatre Location

Macdonald-Heaslip Hall, Sheridan


Mr. Clive Paget/John Jasper: Peter Deiwick & Donald Mitchell
Miss Alice Nutting/Edwin Drood: Jana Reidel & Anjali Hardie
Miss Deirdre Peregrine/Rosa Bud: Marion Abbott & Sarah Goddard
Miss Gwendolyn Pynn/Wendy: Anjali Hardie & Jana Reidel
Miss Florence Throttle/Beatrice: Sarah Dawn Connell & Sarah Dawn Connell
Miss Janet Conover/Helena Landless: Nikki Hechavarria & Sheri Cormier
Mr. Victor Grinstead/Neville Landless: Greg Csefko & Jet Matas
Mr. Cedric Moncrieffe/The Reverend Mr. Crisparkle: Michael Walmsley & Blaine Totten
Miss Angela Prysock/ The Princess Puffer: Colleen O’Brien & Sophie Schottlander
Miss Gwendolyn Pynn/Shade of Drood: Anjali Hardie & Jana Reidel
Mr. Medford Moss/Shade of Jasper: Donald Mitchell & Peter Deiwick
Mr. Nick Cricker/Durdles: Sean Andrews
Master Nick Cricker/Deputy: Daniel Murphy
Mr. Phillip Bax/Waiter #1: Phillip Nero & Scott Freethy
Mr. Nicholas Michael/Waiter #2: Scott Freethy & Phillip Nero
Miss Florence Throttle/Maid # 1: Sarah Dawn Connell
Miss Isabel Yearsley/Maid #2: Sheri Cormier & Nikki Hechavarria
Miss Sally Pruitt/Maid #3: Sarah Goddard & Marion Abbott
Miss Gwendolyn Prynn/Maid #4: Anjali Hardie & Jana Reidel
Miss Violet Balfour/Maid #5: Sophie Schottlander & Colleen O’Brien
Mr. Nicholas Michael/Horace: Scott Freethy & Phillip Nero
Mr. Montague Lyon/Townsman #1: Blaine Totten & Michael Walmsley
Mr. Harry Sayle/Townsman #2: Jet Matas & Greg Csefko
Mr. Medford Moss/Townsman #3: Donald Mitchell & Peter Deiwick
Mr. Phillip Bax/Bazzard: Phillip Nero & Scott Freethy
Miss Violet Balfour: Sophie Schottlander & Colleen O’Brien
Miss Sally Pruitt: Sarah Goddard & Marion Abbott
Miss Gwendolyn Pynn: Anjali Hardie & Jana Reidel
Miss Florence Throttle: Sarah Dawn Connell
Miss Isabel Yearsley: Sheri Cormier & Nikki Hechavarria
Mr. Phillip Bax: Phillip Nero & Scott Freethy
Mr. Montague Lyon: Blaine Totten & Michael Walmsley
Mr. Nicholas Michael: Scott Freethy & Phillip Nero
Mr. Medford Moss: Donald Mitchell & Peter Deiwick
Mr. Harry Sayle: Jet Matas & Greg CSefko

Succubae & Citizens of Cloisterham
Sophie Schottlander, Colleen O’Brien, Sarah Goddard, Marion Abbott, Anjali Hardie, Jana Reidel, Sarah Dawn Connell, Sheri Cormier, Nikki Hechavarria, Phillip Nero, Scott Freethy, Blaine Totten, Michael Walmsley, Donald Mitchell, Peter Deiwick, Jet Matas, Greg Csefko


Drood - The Mystery of Edwin Drood, Charles Dickens, Theatre Sheridan, musical theatre

Terms of Use

Terms of Use for Works posted in SOURCE.


Theatre and Performance Studies


Faculty of Animation, Arts & Design


Department of Visual and Performing Arts

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 4.0 License.

Original Citation

James, C. (Director). (1998, November 11 – 28). Drood – the mystery of Edwin Drood [Theatre Performance]. Oakville: Theatre Sheridan.

Drood – The Mystery of Edwin Drood, November 11 – 28, 1998



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.